HWA Specialty Awards 2022 – Locus Online

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) has announced that Jo Fletcher, Nancy Holder and Koji Suzuki are the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award, given annually by the Board of Directors to “individuals whose work has significantly influenced the genres of horror and of dark fantasy”.

Valancourt Books won the Specialty Press Award, given “to a publisher whose work has significantly influenced the horror and dark fantasy genres”.

The President’s Richard Laymon Award, “presented to a member who has served HWA in an exemplary manner and has demonstrated exceptional dedication to the organization,” will be presented to Sumiko Saulson. The winner is chosen by the current president of HWA.

Kevin J. Wetmore is the recipient of the Silver Hammer Award, given “to a HWA volunteer who has done truly tremendous work for the organization, often unrecognized and behind the scenes” and chosen by the HWA Board of Directors.

Michael Knost is the recipient of the Mentor of the Year award. Introduced in 2014, the award “recognizes a Mentorship Program mentor who has done outstanding work in helping new writers” and is chosen by the current Mentorship Program Chair.

The final ballot for the 2021 Stoker Awards was previously announced. Winners will be honored at a gala during StokerCon 2022to be held May 12-15, 2022 at the Curtis Hotel in Denver CO. For more information, see the Stoker Awards website or the StokerCon ad.

Locus Magazine, Fantasy Science FictionWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Place with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site running, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT pursue quality coverage of science fiction and fantasy.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission from LSFF.

About Cecil Cobb

Check Also

USB ports not working well? 7 ways to solve problems

It is not uncommon for USB ports to stop working properly; switch to another port …